REVIEW: ORIENS X VAN CLEEF AND ARPELS

Van Cleef and Arpels is the Brand that I will start patronizing when I step up to step up. Everything about Van Cleef and Arpels oozes class and sophistication. Sometimes I go to their website just to Ooh and aah.

For those that do not know, Van Cleef and Arpels is a Luxury French Brand that specializes in Watches and Jewellery.

In December 2016, I was at the airport waiting for my flight and I wandered into the Essenza store. A lot of the perfumes that I fancied were above my budget and I had already spent 30 minutes perceiving everything in the store and willing the money in my wallet to grow up when I came across Oriens. I was not even aware that Van Cleef and Arpels had perfumes until I saw it.

I always check reviews before I buy any scent but I could not because the service in the store was so bad, it was non-existent. There was no tester as well and this was the only bottle available.

I went in blind and I bought it. I was so glad I did. I opened the packet and the bottle was so beautiful and exquisite. Like a work of art.

Oriens - Cateyes 4

Packaging

It comes in a simple, cream carton. An understated box for the amazement that is the bottle. The Bottle is so beautiful. The intricate leaves on the cover show dedication and sophistication. The kind that you can only associate with luxury. The Bottle was designed by Joel Desgrippes, inspired by the Tourmaline Abres aux Songes (Tree of Dreams) ring from The 2003 Midsummer Night’s Dream Collection.

It is quite heavy, but I do not even mind that. I doubt that I will throw the bottle away when the perfume finishes, since I cannot afford the Abres aux Songes ring (For now).

Fragrance

Top notes: Mandarin orange, Black currant and Raspberry | Middle notes: Jasmine and white flowers | Base notes: Patchouli, Praline, Amber and Vanilla.

Despite, the extravagant bottle, Oriens is sweet and sophisticated and not at all overbearing. The perfume is blended so well that I cannot separate the Mandarin Orange from the White flowers. The patchouli is a bit obvious as it dries down and I think that it adds the sophistication, but not in a way that it takes over the entire scent.

It is sweet, but not in a way that is sickly or cloying. I think it is a complex, grown up scent.

Oriens - Cateyes 4

Sillage and Longevity

Sillage (pronounced as see-yazh) refers to the scented trail left by the fragrance wearer. It comes from the French word for “wake,” as in the trail left in the sky by an airplane. You know how you enter a place and you know that a particular person has been there because you can perceive their perfume? That’s sillage. Perfume can either have soft or heavy sillage depending on the type. I think that this perfume has a soft sillage. On me anyway, it does not take over a room when I enter. I think the perfume is so elegant and understated that it does not feel the need to announce its presence.

Oriens - Cateyes 3

Final Note

I love this perfume. I love the bottle and I am very glad that I bought it. The brand advertises it as a Chypre, but I am not sure I got that when I wore it. A lot of reviews have compared it to Miss Dior Cherie and say that is a mature version of Juicy Couture’s Viva la juicy. All in all, I would recommend it to anyone who likes classic scents with a bit of sweetness.

Oriens - Cateyes 7

Where to buy:

Van Cleef & Arpels Oriens is an Eau de Parfum and it is available in 30, 50 and 100ml. The 100ml retails for $150 (about N55,000). I have only seen it one time in Nigeria and that was in Essenza, Ikeja.

 

Have you tried Oriens? What other sweet scents have you been loving? Let’s talk in the comments.

Leave a Reply

